My new obsession

So the other day I was needing to make lunch for the kiddos. PB&J is my favorite standby and I was out of anything else anyway. But whoops, I was out of bread, too. So an idea came to me…tortillas would be great for this! So I looked up how to make them. Didn’t sound too hard, so I gave it a whirl, altering alot as I went. I’ve always loved homemade tortillas and with these, I can be sure there’s no junk or piggy products 🙂

Ingredients:
2 cups flour (I use 1/2 white and 1/2 whole wheat)
1/2 tspn salt
1 tspn baking powder*
1 1/2 tbs coconut oil
3/4 cup water

Whisk the dry ingredients together. Work the coconut oil in with your hands. The original recipe said to work it (well, their ‘it’ was lard) until it had the consistency of cornmeal. I’m not sure what that means since I rarely use cornmeal, so I work it in until I can’t feel any clumps of the oil.
Stir in the water. I always seem to need a little more to get the right doughy texture, but then add more flour to get rid of the over-stickiness of the dough. Maybe there’s a better way? Ha!
Anyway, make the dough into a ball and then divide equally until you get the size you want. I usually make 8 balls from this recipe.

20131101-134205.jpg

On a *very* floured surface, roll out the dough into ‘circles’ with a rolling pin. I am unable to make circles, but my tummy has never complained at the shape! The original recipe says to use a floured rolling pin. How anyone ever gets flour to stick to a rolling pin, I’ll likely never know! I throw the flour on top of my dough and do it that way.

20131101-134838.jpg

Have a nice large pan on low-medium heat. I suspect a cast iron skillet would be best for this, but alas, mine is still packed away somewhere…
Anyway, place the tortilla on the skillet and heat until bubbly. I find that I have just enough time to roll out my next one before it is ready to flip.

20131101-135159.jpg

It should look like this when you flip:

20131101-135317.jpg

It does not take nearly as long to cook the other side as it does to cook the first, so be watching.

*Since keeping the days of unleavened bread, I rarely, if ever bother purchasing baking powder. But I always have baking soda since I do EVERYTHING with it (another post…). So, I substitute 1/2 tspn cream of tartar plus 1/4 tspn baking soda.

My favorite way to eat these is just by themselves! But, I love them for pb&j too. (Btw, I use almond butter and lately homemade muscadine preserves!).

20131101-135627.jpg

Here you go and enjoy!

20131101-135714.jpg

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

